Pepperoni Calzone

I lost my creative-ness on the name of this. If you can come up with a creative name for a calzone let me know… I tried “Cal-in the-zone,” but I didn’t like it…oh well…

I usually use Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat pizza dough and make a pizza once a week, but this week I really wanted a calzone. It is 2 points per slice of pizza and Brandon (the husband) and I usually split one. I love pizza. I kind of have a pizza addiction. Ok pizza and I have a relationship just don’t tell Brandon ๐Ÿ˜‰

Calzone Ingredients:
Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1/4 cup TJ’s fat free pizza sauce
17 slices Turkey Pepperoni
2/4 cup TJ’s lite mexican blend cheese
Any other toppings and spices you like on your pizza. I used red and green peppers, oregano, onions, and tomato slices. (Points will vary depending on what you use)
Preheat your oven to 425 degrees
Lightly flour your pizza pan then roll out crust. Make sure crust has been sitting out to get to about room temp. I usually free the dough and then let it sit in the fridge for about 8 hours then Brandon takes it out to sit on the counter about 2-3 hours. If you don’t freeze it, then just set it out maybe an hour or two before you use it. It just stretches easier. I use my hands to spread the dough, it often sticks to my rolling pin.

Spread the tomato paste on first, then the pizza sauce.
Then add the cheese, and other toppings. Cover the toppings with the pepperoni.
Fold over and press the edges together with your fingers. Cut several (4-5) slits into the top of the calzone to let the steam escape.
Cook for about 15 minutes depending on your oven. I cooked it until it looked brown on top. The dough should feel pretty hard on top when finished.

The point value for the whole meal is 26. We cut ours in two and it came out to 12 points per serving. If you cut it into four servings, it would be 6 points per serving.

3 Responses to “Pepperoni Calzone”


  1. 1 Christy January 28, 2009 at 4:55 am

    Hey there. I have been reading up on you. Congrats on your weight loss. It is fantastic. You are very inspirational!

  2. 2 Kim February 8, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    There is a restaurant in Colorado that serves calzones pizzeria style! They put in any ingredient you can think of including cream cheese! Pizza sauce on the side to dip each bite in or open the middle & pour it in! Yum! I was 15 years younger & 80 lbs lighter & would eat one with a 32oz mug of ice cold beer once a week! Can you believe it? Thanks for sharing this & the points value are great as a meal!

  3. 3 Krista February 8, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    That sounds delicious! I have a pizza issue and am always trying to find new ways to get the most pizza for the least amount of points! And Miller 64 beer isn’t bad either ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories


