Shrimp scampi

This is almost a weekly favorite of ours.  It is not like your typical Red Lobster shrimp scampi.  This is something that I have created just by throwing some things together and of course, adding noodles!

Here is the recipe:

1 box whole wheat pasta

4 tablespoons olive oil

5 oz cooked shrimp with the tail off (I get the 5 dollar bag at TJ’s)

1/2 cup white wine

1 tsp. minced garlic

a dash of Old Bay seasoning

Boil noodles in water until ready.  In a separate pan, mix olive oil and shrimp. Cook on medium heat.  When shrimp starts to look tender and thawed, add garlic, and wine.  Strain your noodles and serve shrimp mixture on top.  18 shrimp is a serving and I just use whatever sauce comes with the shrimp when I dip it out.  Makes about 8 servings and it’s about 6 points per serving.  I save the rest of the pasta and put it in our lunches for the next two days 🙂

I served it with romaine lettuce and some caesar dressing.  It was a point friendly caesar salad- only 1 point!

2 Responses to “Shrimp scampi”


  1. 1 Christy February 9, 2009 at 2:52 am

    Hey there. This looks tasty. How did you like that pasta with flax in it? I have seen it around but I was not sure if it was good. Are the points for one serving of it better than regular whole wheat pasta?

  2. 2 Krista February 9, 2009 at 6:57 am

    I often by the pasta with flax in it because I am trying to incorporate more flax in my diet. It doesn’t taste different to me. I have bought different types of pasta and they all are around 3 points. I prefer penne, but regular pasta takes longer to eat. There is no twirling with penne! If you aren’t a wheat fan or you are making dinner for someone who doesn’t like the wheat-y taste, Ronzoni Smart Taste makes good pasta for around the same number of points! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories


